CLACS faculty members excelled at the AHA book awards

Ada Ferrer and Greg Grandin were announced to be two of the American Historical Association (AHA) awards recipients for history books published in 2014.

Greg Grandin, CLACS affiliated faculty, won the Albert J. Beveridge Award for his book The Empire of Necessity: Slavery, Freedom, and Deception in the New World.  This award is for the best book on the History of the US, Latin America, or Canada.

While Ada Ferrer’s book, Freedom’s Mirror: Cuba and Haiti in the Age of Revolution, has won the Friedrich Katz Prize in Latin American and Caribbean History, the Wesley-Logan Prize in African Diaspora History, and the James A. Rawley Prize for the History of the Atlantic Worlds before the 20th Century.

Ada Ferrer’s book, Freedom’s Mirror, won three awards from the American Historical Association. While Greg Grandin is co-winner of the Albert J. Beveridge Award for his book The Empire of Necessity.

Moreover, Fred Cooper, member of the NYU History Department’s faculty, won both the George Louis Beer Prize in European International History since 1895, and the Martin A. Klein Prize in African History. These recognitions were awarded for his book Citizenship between Empire and Nation: Remaking France and French Africa, 1945-1960.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: